Fiber routers

QuadraphonicQuad

Help Support QuadraphonicQuad:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mandrix

Senior Surround Collector
QQ Supporter
Couldn't find a good place to put this so I hope this will be OK.
My pc and related components are important to me as the pc is my main playback device, but here is my quandry:
I recently acquired fiber internet, 2GB up/down but the ISP supplied router has 1 gig LAN ports. I would like to get an affordable fiber router that has 2/2.5 gig LAN ports.
Two of our pc's have 2.5 gig adapters, and I would like to make full use of the supplied bandwidth. But I'm new to fiber routers.
Remembering I'm on a tight budget, does anyone have suggestions for said device? Thanks.

Do you need 2/2.5Gbps over the internet (unlikely), or just between computers inside your home? You could buy a 2.5 or 10Gbps 5 port switch, connect your computers to it, and one cable to the internet router. It limits your internet to 1Gbps but allows the internal devices to function at 2.5Gbps

There's not a lot of use cases for needing 2.5Gbps internet, IMO. Usually the server on the other end hosting the file will be capped/throttled well below that threshold. Moving large chunks of data or transcoding internally would benefit though.

Also, maybe call your ISP who provided that modem/router and see if they can set the ports to a faster speed for you [they may have them manually set to 1Gb]. It would seem strange to sell you a 2Gbps service and then provide a device that is incapable of providing the speeds of that service.

Also, maybe call your ISP who provided that modem/router and see if they can set the ports to a faster speed for you [they may have them manually set to 1Gb]. It would seem strange to sell you a 2Gbps service and then provide a device that is incapable of providing the speeds of that service.